Beet Apple Sauce aka Beet Magic

Kids love apple-sauce anytime, but sometimes beet is not so loved. Because I like beet and believe the kids should get to enjoy them and their healthy benefits (calcium, potassium, vitamin A). I was excited when I saw this recipe on babyfoode.com and was excited because apples any way are loved in our home. She calls this sauce pink magic so I figured a play with magic food at my house would be fun. I went with beet magic and now eating beet apple sauce is followed with some dancing! It is a great variation to regular apple sauce and a great starter food for little kiddos 8+ months.

Ingredients

6 apples

1/2 beet

2 cups water

Directions

  1. Peel, core and chop the apples, then peel and chop the beet.
  2. Place apples, beet in a pan with water (add as necessary) over medium/low heat for 25 minutes.
  3. Mash with a spoon to get a chunky sauce or blend for smooth sauce.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Damaris says:

    Thanks Wambui for sharing this yummy apple-beet snack. My baby’s number one favourite snack. Yes, Elijah loves apple source BUT with added beet, the color becomes more attractive and even tastes more delicious. Since I discovered this recipe, I’m no longer struggling on what to feed my baby especially for breakfast or evening snack. I would encourage every parents out there to try it especially if your baby is a picky eater. It’s healthy, delicious & kids love it. Thank you once again for sharing. Bless your heart darling..!!

    Like

    1. Wambui says:

      Dama – Yay for Elijah loving it! Like you I like the effect of color, a lot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

