Citrus Cardamon Cake

Oranges, grapefruit, clementines, limes; I love citrus fruits and family around me enjoys orange juice quite a bit. I grew up with lots of fruit around the house, freshly picked from our garden or my grandmother’s orchard. Yes, you heard that right, my grandmother had an orchard. She was the most hardworking woman I knew, besides my mama and she raised this orchard like a baby. There were mangoes, sugarcane, passion fruit, avocados, grapefruit, macadamia nuts and the list continues. I learned that some people in our village used to call her orchard “eden” like the garden of eden. Anyways, I first loved citrus fruits because my grandmother provided us the freshest sweetest ones. It is why when I ran into this beautiful citrus cardamom cake recipe here; I was so delighted that I had to try it. I didn’t have ricotta on hand which is what that recipe used, so I experimented with fresh sheep yogurt from a local farm where I live and it turned out so good. I made it bright and early and it was ready at 7:00 am for breakfast. It is so good, so beautiful and best of all so easy to make.

 

For the Pan

3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter

3 Thin Orange Slices, 3 Clementine slices

 

For the Cake

1 1/2 Cup All-Purpose Flour

3/4 Cup  Honey

3/4 Tsp Cardamom

2 Tsp Baking Powder

3/4 Tsp Salt

2 Large Eggs

1 1/2 Cup Sheep Yogurt

1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Tbsp Fresh Orange Juice

1 Tsp Orange Zest

1 Stick Unsalted Butter, melted

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease the edges of a 9″ cake pan with butter.

For the pan, place 3 tablespoons butter in a small saucepan in the oven until the butter melts. Whisk the mixture a few times until smooth and pour into the cake pan, making sure that it evenly coats the bottom; set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, honey, cardamom, baking powder, and salt together until combined.

In another bowl, whisk eggs, sheep’s yogurt, vanilla, orange juice, and zest until smooth. Once combined fold the yogurt mixture into the dry ingredients with a spatula until just blended and gently fold in melted butter.

Arrange citrus slices on the bottom of the cake pan. Carefully pour in the cake batter over the top of the slices.

Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Allow the cake to cool for 15-20 minutes before removing from the pan.

Once cooled invert the cake onto a plate and serve.

Note: When I first made this cake, I used oranges and limes, um not so good. Slice size variation was fine but the tart lime taste didn’t go so well with the orange sweet taste. Next time around and the recipe I share here is pure citrus sweetness! I hope you’ll try it and let me know how it turns out.

Storage: Carefully wrap leftover caking in plastic wrap or store in an airtight container. The cake will keep for 5-7 days.

Leave a Reply

